Understand authorization charges from YouTube
You may see an unfamiliar charge after signing up for a trial or pre-ordering paid content on YouTube. This charge is an authorization hold.
What is an authorization hold?
When you make a purchase, we contact the issuing bank to make sure your payment method is valid and that you have enough funds to make the purchase. Your bank holds the funds until the transaction processes or the authorization expires. An authorization hold is not a charge, you don't pay for authorizations. Depending on your bank, you may see an authorization hold in addition to a pending payment for your purchase or subscription. Your order is not canceled when your authorization hold is released.
Authorization holds can show on your account for 1-14 business days, depending on your bank. If you still see the pending authorization after 14 business days, contact your bank for more information.
Authorization hold differences by payment method
If you use a debit card, you might see authorization holds as charges on your online statement. Your bank will automatically reverse these charges.
If you have questions about the way your card handles authorization requests, or you find that you've been charged more than once, contact your bank.