Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Set or clear read-only status [MS]

You can lock a file to make it read-only and prevent it from being accidentally deleted.

Lock or unlock a workbook to make it read-only

Note: If your workbook is shared, anyone who has Write privileges can clear the read-only status. For stronger protection, require a password to save changes.

  1. On the File menu, click Info.

  2. Click on Protect Workbook and select the Always Open Read-Only.

Lock a workbook to make it read-only

Note: If your workbook is shared, anyone who has Write privileges can clear the read-only status. For stronger protection, require a password to save changes.

  1. Open the Finder and select the workbook you want to protect.

  2. On the Action pop-up menu  Action pop-up menu, click Get Info.

  3. On the General pane, select the Locked check box.

Clear the read-only status of a workbook

Note: You must be the owner of the file, or have Write privileges, in order to clear read-only status.

  1. Open the Finder and select the workbook you no longer want to be read-only.

  2. On the Action pop-up menu  Action pop-up menu, click Get Info.

  3. On the General pane, clear the Locked check box.

See also

Prompt to open a workbook as read-only

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog

Use a mobile device to work with SharePoint sites [MS]

Use a mobile device to work with SharePoint sites SharePoint in Microsoft...