Share usage & diagnostics information with Google
To help us improve Android, you can let your device send us information about how you use it and how it's working.
If you have additional Web & App Activity turned on, this info may be stored with your account. If so, you can see and delete it in My Activity. We use this info to personalize your Google services more, and to improve our products and services for everyone.
What information is shared with Google
If you turn on usage and diagnostics, your device sends info to Google about what's working and not working. For example, your device can send info like:
- Battery level
- How often you use your apps
- Quality and length of your network connections (like mobile, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth)
Turn usage & diagnostics on or off
Important: If you turn off usage and diagnostics, your device can still get essential services, like a new version of Android. Turning off usage and diagnostics won't affect info that apps might collect.
To choose whether to send usage and diagnostics info to Google:
- Open your device's Settings app.
- Tap Google More Usage & diagnostics.
- Turn Usage & diagnostics on or off.
Tip: If you use a shared device, other user profiles may change this setting.
How Google uses this information
For example, Google can use usage and diagnostics info to improve:
- Battery life: Google can use info about what's using the most battery on your device to help make common features use less battery.
- Crashing or freezing on devices: Google can use info about when apps crash and freeze on your device to help make the Android operating system more reliable.
Some aggregated info can help partners, like Android developers, make their apps and products better, too.